After reading Andre Lorde’s Age, Race, Class, and Sex: Women Redefining Difference, I have come to realize that being an example for others should not have a negative connotation. Yes, we all make mistakes and we went examples of how not to act, but that is not what I am referring to. I am referring to education others based on our differences. Have you ever been in a classroom where the teacher looks at you when he or she is talking about a minority group that you fall into? I have and it makes me uncomfortable. I do not want to be but on the stop about something just because I am the token hispanic gay guy, but Lorde has made me realize that I need to take advantage of these opportunities. Lorde sets herself apart from other black lesbians because she speaks her mind and she expresses her sexuality even though she knows other African American women are less likely to be open about their sexuality. Throughout Lorde’s article she argues that we have to recognize our differences so we can work together to identify those differences and work together within our minority groups and with other minority groups. I believe what she is saying is that together we can all make a difference if we acknowledge one another’s differences by  educating.  I have always shied away from being an example just because I was different and those teachers that looked at me every time we were discussing sexuality or minorities were the teachers I disliked the most. We should let people feel comfortable being an example, we should not force them to be an example. I have attached this article from the Learning and Teaching website because it reminded me of Lorde’s article of how educators should be inclusive to their student’s differences. Lorde wants women to unite to be more powerful, but why stop at one minority group? If we all took her advice and applied it to ourselves we would not have to worry about others calling on us to be examples, we would voluntarily do so with the support of others.

-Brent Lopez

