When I first word the word demedicalization, I did not think of anything about gender designation or anything else that was listed. I thought about losing their medical license or someone not getting any medical help. I think its unfortunate but it will take a very very long time, if it even ever happens, for the world to be demedicalizied. I think it is stupid that people that are trans feel like they cannot use the men’s or women’s bathroom. They have to be able to go somewhere to use the restroom or even the locker rooms. I personally hate locker rooms. It is just awkward to me to be changing and showering in front of a thousand different people. But my only experience of locker rooms is in high school where cliques were everything and you only had 10 mins to shower and get ready for class. When it comes to ending involuntary “corrective” surgeries for babies with intersex conditions, its a very touchy subject. I think it should be up to the parents to make a decision on what to do with their child. If the parents do not want to correct it then the child should be left alone unless there is a medical problem. If the child is going to get an infection and possibly die from it than I think we should leave the decision to the parents. Some parents choose to circumcise their boys while others choose not too. I think this should go for the corrective surgery as well. I also think that people should be able to choose what gender they want to associate with. As long as people do not start to get crazy and make up their own sex. Anyone should be able to choose between female and male. What do you put on a child’s birth certificate that is born with intersex conditions? If you can give them whatever sex the parents choose or is decided than people should be able to choose whether they want to be a female or male.

Jessica Plunkitt

