Today at my weekly family soccer I was talking with my baby cousin, Lily. She was showing me her little mermaid lip shimmer and said, “I can wear this because I’m a girl. I wear makeup. My daddy’s a boy and my mommy’s a girl”. I didn’t used to think about how children were so influenced at such a young age, but today I witnessed it first hand in my three year old cousin. But who says men can’t wear makeup and women have to?  Its social rules like this have been broken in the fashion industry in the more recent years and the androgynous model has become a facet in global ad campaigns.

Marc Jacobs and Jean Paul Gaultier have had multiple campaigns staring models that breach gender lines. Part of the appeal of these models is that people tend to be mesmerized by them. They take a second, and even third look to try and determine certain model’s sexes. Models like Andrej Pejic have gained their fame from their androgyny and have intrigued hundreds of prominent designers. Pejic was recently named “Mr. Unisex” for his gender-bending photographs, and at age 19 is making strides for eliminating serious gender roles in a community that typically is seen as gender segregated, targeting a specific audience. Pejic has been booked for men’s clothing as well as women’s clothing campaigns because his look is so appealing to a feminine and masculine audience.

“His success in the industry not only defies convention, but redefines the commonly held perceptions about gender roles and sex, that are gradually changing, but still a work in progress.” – Corinne Guirgis

-parisa mansoori

